It warn’t broke, but they fixed it anyway.

Posted: July 10, 2008 in opera, smartphone, treo
Tags: , ,

Dontcha just hate it when a company fixes something and performance takes a hit? Such was the case with Opera Mini 4.1 Final (in my case, 4.1.11355, 20080522).

I’ve been using a Palm Treo 680 for almost a year and a half now. Blazer, the built-in web browser was just okay at the outset. As I explore more websites and as the websites get more complex, I increasingly find that Blazer just can’t cut it. Several months ago I installed Opera Mini, and I have used it a number of times since then – primarily when Blazer chokes on a page. With the supporting software that Opera Mini requires, it was a bit of a pain to get going. Once I finally had it running, I kept it on my phone, dutifully upgrading with each new release in hopes of a better interface and a more refined Treo-like user experience. (Did anyone else notice that Opera’s implementation of the 5-way Navigator button was completely inverted when compared to ALL OTHER Palm apps?)

Anywho . . . suffice it to say that Opera ain’t working so good now. After “upgrading” to the “final” 4.1 version, the program is all but unusable on my Treo. All kidding aside, most of the time I can’t even load Google with Opera. It crashes my phone, and I have to remove and replace the battery to force a reboot. You know, that new iPhone is looking better all the time!

Oh, for a version of Firefox that would run on the Palm OS!

Comments
  1. [...] I’m still considering the options, but while I wait and cogitate, the performance on my Treo 680 continues to degrade. It suffers from inexplicable slow-downs, random reboots, and increasingly poor web browsing. (Seriously Palm, don’t you think it’s about time for a Blazer update? And don’t even get me started on Opera Mini!) [...]

Leave a Reply

