An Inauspicious Start

Posted: July 28, 2008 in search engines, services
Tags:

As I was driving in to work this morning, I head an NPR story about the new search engine, Cuil, and I was ready to give it a try. Created by former Google employees, Cuil hopes to challenges Google’s 60+ % market share dominance in part by indexing more pages than any other search engine provider.

So imagine my surprise when I went to the website and got this:

cuil3

And this:

cuil2

I like Google. I’ve used it regularly since I first heard about it, and it is my search engine of choice. However, I’m not a zealot. I’m willing to try new search engines to see if they give me better results than my fave. But if you’re going to try to take on Google, you’d better make sure your stuff works on opening day!

An inauspicious start indeed!

Leave a Reply

