Cuil? Say what?

Posted: July 28, 2008 in search engines, services
Tags:

So I was finally able to get into Cuil and try a few searches. I have to say that I’m not overly impressed with what I’ve seen so far, but I’m trying to stay open-minded and I’ll keep trying it. I’m not convinced that the search results are as contextually relevant as I need them to be. And on some levels, Cuil simply fails, and fails bigtime.

Here are a couple of sample searches.

cuil4

Now I realize that Iron Man wasn’t the biggest movie of the summer. It’s not going to give the Dark Knight a run for its money. It was reasonably popular though, and you’d think I would be able to find something. Fan sites? Perhaps an IMDB listing? Or hmmm . . . I don’t know . . . maybe the actual movie site?

This is another strange one.

cuil5

The University of Mississippi only has several thousand web pages, so it’s no wonder Cuil couldn’t find it, huh? Strangely though, if I capitalize my search terms, Cuil does return hits. I wonder if the Cuil folks realize that most people don’t capitalize things when they’re doing a search? Live and learn.

Comments
  1. Dube says:

    Cuil seems to have issues with capitalization and all versions of punctuation. No reason to try to stay open minded. It failed. 😛

  2. surferblue says:

    I’m trying to operate under the idea that competition is a good thing. 😉 However, I have to say that my initial impression of Cuil is nothing close to the enthusiasm I felt the first time I used Google. Once I tried Google I never looked back! So far I find Cuil to be rather underwhelming. And what’s up with those random pictures?

  3. […] I noted a few days ago that Cuil couldn’t even find “iron man”. At least they’ve solved THAT little problem.    Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Cuil?Are You Searching For Another Search Engine?Google-Wannabe Cuil: Worst. Launch. Ever.Cuil Search Engine Mismatches Brand Images […]

Leave a Reply

