Clear for iPhone

Posted: February 1, 2012 in iOS, iphone
Tags: ,

Last week a came across an announcement for a new product: Clear for iPhone. From the video it appears that Clear is essentially a to-do list, but it has a very clean, minimalist interface that makes very clever use of gesture-based navigation. It caught my interest immediately, and I’m looking forward to the release of this app.

It’s already getting some buzz around the ‘net:

Ars Technica

Cult of Mac

MobileBurn

TUAW

However, as much as I’d like to take this app for a test drive, something on the company’s website really took me off guard:

It’s that whole “like” on Facebook thing. I understand that Facebook is a cheap and easy way to get some advertising. It’s a good way to do some grass roots marketing. It’s also a good way to communicate with potential customers.

The thing I don’t get is why they want me to “like” it already. There’s really nothing to like except a product announcement and a promo video. The product itself isn’t actually available yet. I WANT to like their product, and I hope I do, but I find this request for “likes” a little premature – it’s akin to asking me if I like . . . well . . . pretty much anything before you’ve let me try it. How do I know?

From watching the video, the UI is going to be pretty cool. But let me at least try it before you ask me to like it.

Leave a Reply

